SELECTBOARD MINUTES

This meeting was called to order at 7:30pm at the Dummerston Town Office in Dummerston, Vermont.

Re-organization of the Selectboard: Cindy made a motion that the Board elect a slate of officers as follows: Lewis White, Chair; Andrew MacFarland, Vice-Chair; and Patricia Stello, Clerk. The motion was seconded by Wayne. No other nominations were made and the motion passed.

Members Present: Chair Lewis White, Vice-Chair Andrew MacFarland, Clerk Patricia Stello, Wayne Emery and Cindy Jerome

Also Present: Ginny Carter, Rich Cogliano, Dawn Hubbard, Nelson Jillson, Kevin Ryan, Cary Gaunt, Stewart McDermet, Steve Mindel, Laura Beliveau, Jim Porter and Laurie Frechette

On a motion by Andrew and second from Cindy, the Board approved, 5-0, the minutes from February 27th and the payment of Warrants 19 and 19P.

The Board recognized Emergency Management Director, Dawn Hubbard who recommended the appointment of Larry Lynch as the Assistant Emergency Management Director. On a motion by Cindy and second from Andrew, Larry was appointed by a 5-0 vote.

The Board recognized Cary Gaunt from the Energy Committee, who spoke about the committee's wish to form a sub-committee to pursue activity on the Southern Loop and work in conjunction with other area towns. They also want to make sure the far western edge of Dummerston is considered (i.e. Kelly Road). Cindy questioned whether the Planning Commission should be the regulatory body to represent the town. Steve Mindel explained the Planning Commission's viewpoint that the Selectboard and their designee, the Energy Committee should pursue this and possibly piggyback on the Windham Regional Commission's efforts.

The Board recognized Laura Beliveau and Jim Porter from the VT Department of Public Service, who explained their role in the Southern Loop Project. They explained that legislation was passed that requires them to meet with the Selectboard in each town affected by a transmission project. The Dept. of Public Service represents the public as a whole, not individual towns or persons. They cannot give legal advice.

Laura and Jim explained the differences between the Dept. of Public Service (DPS) and the Public Service Board (PSB); the DPS is an interested party and the PSB is a judicial board.

Andrew moved to appoint an Advisory Committee for the Southern Loop, comprised of no more than nine members for a one year term. The committee will review the information for the Southern Loop and prepare interrogatories for discovery while working in conjunction with other towns. The nominated committee appointees are: Steve Mindel, Stewart & Kristen McDermet, Cary Gaunt, Alex Wilson, Mark & Patricia Stello. Cindy seconded the motion and it passed by a 5-0 vote.

In Lee's absence, Lewis presented the Road Foreman's report. The Board reviewed a notice from VT Agency of Transportation regarding the painting of Class 2 roads and newly paved roads in 2008.

The Board reviewed a notice from VLCT regarding a vehicle insurance claim from an accident involving one of the town trucks during a storm.

The Board reviewed the 2008 Certificate of Highway Mileage which was returned by the VT AOT with several questions. Laurie will contact Sara Moulton and review the questions and make the necessary corrections.

The Board reviewed and discussed an email from Tom Bodett regarding the formation of an ad-hoc broadband committee. Kevin Ryan explained the activities to be pursued by the committee; Pat Stello agreed to be the informal technology contact person for the Selectboard.

Andrew will respond to Suzanne Weinberg's request for information from the Selectboard for the Energy Committee's article for the upcoming *Views of Dummerston*.

Pat Stello requested an update on the status of Arthur Phaneuf's zoning violation on Camp Arden Road. Laurie will ask Zoning Administrator, Gina Faro to submit a report for the next Board meeting.

Wayne moved to appoint Shorty Forrett as First Constable. Andrew seconded the motion and it passed on a 5-0 vote.

On a motion from Andrew and second by Cindy, the following town officers were appointed by a 5-0 vote:

Fence Viewers	Ernie Clark
	Nelson Jillson
	Harold Newell
Pound keepers	Shorty Forrett
	Ron Svec
Inspector of Wood & Lumber	Shorty Forrett
Weigher of Coal	Ruth Barton
Tree Warden	Charlie Richardson

Pat spoke to the Board regarding her concerns about the heat/smoke detectors in the Town Office building and the fire security of the vaults. Laurie will check to make sure that the alarms are hooked up to an automatic reporting system.

On a motion from Andrew and second by Wayne, the Board voted 5-0 to continue meeting every other Wednesday at 7:30PM, unless otherwise warned.

On a motion by Cindy and second from Wayne, the Board voted 5-0 to adjourn the meeting and immediately convene the Liquor Commission at 9:12PM.

The Liquor Commission was called to order at 9:13PM. On a motion by Andrew and second from Cindy, the liquor license renewal applications for Rice Oil and Dwight Miller & Son Orchards were approved by a 5-0 vote.

On a motion by Andrew and second from Wayne, the tobacco license renewal application for Rice Oil was approved by a 4-1 vote.

On a motion by Andrew and second from Wayne, the liquor license renewal application for IQ incorporated was approved by a 5-0 vote.

On a motion by Andrew and second from Wayne, the tobacco license renewal application for IQ incorporated was approved by a 4-1 vote.

On a motion from Pat and second by Cindy, the commission voted 5-0 to adjourn at 9:17PM.

March 26, 2008
Approved

Lewis White, Chairman

Patricia J. Stello, Clerk

Submitted by Laurie Frechette, Administrative Assistant